No More Lessons

IMG_4121

Yesterday was the last day of classes before regents exams began. This academic year was tough. Learning and writing new lessons each night for a new geometry curriculum, driving CJ to school almost every morning before work, searching for and buying a house, selling our co-op, and now renovating the house…and the calendar year isn’t even over yet, ha! It’s a real relief that at least I can have this almost 3-month break to take a breath and restart before it all begins again in September. This will give me a nice chunk of time to help us move in and settle into the house once it’s finished. But in all the craziness, it’s sad that when I felt intense pressure or stress, what ended up suffering the most were my students. When it came down to it, if I needed to cut something out I tended to shave a little off with my classes. I know I didn’t try my best and I hope that in September my game can return to its peak teaching form again.

IMG_4125

Yet, I must have worked hard enough to make a good impression on some of my students. I had a difficult time with a handful of kids this year, but there was a larger group of kids that I really had fun with. They were invested in their learning and were respectful, so I was able to relax and have fun with them. I made them take three mock regents exams and most of them did fairly to surprisingly well, so hopefully they will show me what they learned this Friday. We shall see.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

