The Tickle Cough

dry-cough-28712961

For the past two weeks, I’ve had what I self-diagnosed as a dry cough. I’ve been coughing a lot, sometimes to the point where I can’t stop, but I haven’t had a fever, runny nose, sore throat, sneezing, chills, or any cold or flu-like symptoms recently. The only thing I can think of is that earlier when the cough began I had a lot of phlegm, but now I don’t have much and I’m still coughing.

This is the first time I’ve encountered such a tenacious cough. I used to make fun of people who I noticed tend to cough regularly during meetings or whenever I’d see them, chalking it up to more of a mental cough. But what I have is real, lol! Half the time I cough because the bottom of my throat is itchy, but I also cough when I try to speak a lot or explain something during class. It’s been frustrating because I would be talking to someone and mid-sentence I’d have to pause so that I could cough as if I were out of breath. My co-workers think I’ve developed asthma or a dust allergy. I’m allergic to dust, but my normal allergic reaction would be sneezing and a runny nose, not coughing.

I thought I was getting better this week, but my coughing get tends to worsen at night. Liquids help, but only temporarily. I’m sure my home’s dry air isn’t helping too. If I don’t heal up by the weekend, I’m going to have to see a doctor next week.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

