NYCC 2014

photo 2 (100)

Like last year, this past weekend I took some time to treat myself to five glorious hours at the 2014 New York Comic-Con at the Jacob Javits Center.

photo 1

The floor opened at 10am, but I left early to accompany my wife on her way to work and I got to the convention center at 8:45am and unsurprisingly, I was definitely far from being first on line.

photo 3 (71)

As usual, I was ushered into a large, empty hall and sat there checking my phone and reading a book for 75 minutes. There were a ton of cosplay (people dressed in custom costumes), but that’s something you can google or check out here.

10697163_768507233208654_5579718776346948947_o

When the clock struck and I was finally let onto the exhibition floor, I rushed to pick up this limited edition Voltron print.

$_57 (2)

As well as this limited edition 30th Anniversary Ghostbusters Minimates figure which I quickly put up on ebay and sold for $25 before I left the convention. Unfortunately, they scanned my badge to prevent greedy people like myself from freely double-dipping.

resize

This year is Batman’s 75th Anniversary and DC had some of the actual Batman suits used in recent films on display.

photo 4 (59)

So for the remainder of the time I wandered the floor going up and down the aisles from left to right in a structured manner to make sure I didn’t miss anything. And to my amazement, aside from a couple of Batman comics, I didn’t purchase one action figure at all. I guess I’m growing out of the hobby. And because my time is limited, I’m not one to wait around for one of those panels. But I came across J. Scott Campbell’s free signing table, so I picked up this X-Men/Avengers print that he drew and had him autograph it.

10394132_10152453639021687_1861261854632376526_n

Of course I’d like to come away with more autographs, but nowadays celebrities are charging an extra autograph fee on top of admission, and most of the time they’re way overpriced. I’d love to get a photo with Jason David Frank, aka, the Green Power Ranger, but he charges $40 per signing.

manu-bennett400X400

I actually ran into Manu Bennett, the actor who plays Deathstroke on Arrow.

arrow_040214_1600

But he was charging $20 per signing. He’s cool, but I think my $20 bill is cooler.

photo (86)

So as the hours waned and I realized that I really wasn’t interested in buying any collectibles, I decided to pick up as many freebies as possible like posters and pins to sell on ebay to help soften the $40 financial blow of attending the event. Just like last year, I went looking for the Mega Bloks booth which was giving out free figures that I sold for $10 each on ebay, but for some reason I couldn’t find them on the floor. I had nearly given up and gone home when I ran into the booth on my way out. So I stayed an extra 30 minutes to cycle through the volunteers who were giving out the figures, and I’m sure some of them recognized me, but who were they to say no to a paying customer. I ended up picking up 10 of these figures, one of which I already sold. And one random attendant even gave me a free poster. I gave CJ a Sponge Bob figure which he really likes and has displayed nicely in his play kitchen.

photo 5 (47)

While stalking Mega Bloks, I spotted a short line for a free autographed poster signed by Michiteru Okabe, the creative producer to the new Resident Evil Revelations 2 video game. I never heard of him, and I’m positive I will never play the video game, but sure, why not.

photo (85)

On my way out. As I walked to the subway at around 2:30pm, I was on the lookout for someone who possibly wanted to buy my pass as there was still a lot of time before it closed at 7pm. And sure enough, one block away from the convention center, a man asked a girl behind me if she wanted her pass. The girl declined, so I turned around and said $10. I was willing to go as low as $5, but the guy said yes and the deal was done, haha! What was weird was that he didn’t make his way towards NYCC, but instead he kept asking other people for their passes. Maybe he thought my one-day pass was a 3-day pass.

$_57 (1)

Everything in this photo I obtained for free and I put it up on ebay for $20 and some guy in California bought it, lol!

$_57

Because this poster said it was a limited edition, I decided to up the ante and have a starting price of $24.99 with the option to make a lower offer. I didn’t think anyone would want this, but all you need is one bored and uninformed sucker to bite, and I sold this free poster for $19.99!

I think I had fun. I partially attend out of tradition and obligation as a comic book fan, but I think the biggest reason I go is just to be around others who share the same interests and hobby as I do. There’s a not-so-famous artist on facebook that I follow and frequently comment on his page, and I went up to him and asked if he remembers the guy who always likes his posts, and he said, “Suhu?” And I said, “YEAH! That’s me!” It was pretty funny to talk to him and to see him make a connection with one of his fans. Things like that make it really fun to go and hangout at NYCC, plus recouping the cost and making some extra money doesn’t hurt either.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NYCC 2014

  1. Janina421 says:

    Thumbs up on the meeting the not-so-famous artist. Those are always fun times when you get to finally put a face to the name. I’m sure he appreciated meeting you too!

  2. Pingback: My 2014 REVIEW | msuhu

Leave a Reply

