My GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY Review

guardians-cast

Although this film has been and will continue to receive great reviews, I must say that I initially did not like Guardians of the Galaxy. I want to like it, and I think I need to watch it once more before giving my final opinion, but as of now, I’m a bit ambivalent about Marvel’s space adventure film.

trailer animated GIF

I think the most appealing aspect of the movie is that it’s advertised as a comedy, something entirely different from previous Marvel Universe films. Of course, the galaxy needs saving, but Marvel has brought together a group of characters that will reluctantly risk themselves for something more than financial gain. Now this is fine, but I felt that Marvel should have went all in and made this a full-blown comedic movie instead of trying to salvage it with some final conflict seriousness and saving billions of people. The reason I say so is because I walked into the film expecting to have a really fun laugh-out-loud time, and I did laugh, but most of the jokes were spoiled and foolishly used in the trailers.

The acting is fine, but of the course the main villain is simply a shell of boring. The action is just okay, but the story builds and expands the Marvel Universe, and it was funny, but sadly, not hilarious enough which lends me to conclude that this is barely an above average film. And it is not better than this year’s Captain America: The Winter Soldier.

Disappointingly, I have to give this a 3 out of 5 primarily based upon my experience, but I think if I went into this film not knowing anything and having never seen a trailer…I’d probably give it a 4 out of 5.

Oh, and the end-credits scene is short, underwhelming, and of little consequence.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

