Smorgasburg

photo 3 (13)

This past Sunday after church, the Yung’s invited us to join them to go to Smorgasburg, one of Brooklyn’s famous flea markets. Now, I wasn’t too excited to go as I wanted to go home and relax a little by watching some football, and taking the BQE into Brooklyn wasn’t something that I was looking forward to, but Grace wanted to go so there goes that. The drive was surprisingly smooth and closer than I anticipated as it’s the exit before the Williamsburg bridge, and I always thought it was further along near the Brooklyn Bridge. As we entered, I could immediately tell why this one was so much more popular than our beloved Long Island City Flea & Food market as it’s at least five times larger, and it’s indoors.

photo 1 (19)

We followed the Yung’s and before I could catch my bearings they were already standing in line for something and then Stephanie turns to us and asks, “have you guys ever had the ramen burger?” My interest immediately shot up as I’ve only read and heard about this famous noodle burger. Aside from it being small and the noodles needing some spice, the burger was pretty good with a nice mixture of soy sauce. It took a few bites to get used to the texture, but the concept is interesting enough to garner at least one taste.

photo 2 (18)

With Grace being a mac n’ cheese lover, she gravitated to the Milk Truck stand.

photo 4 (11)

We ended up getting the classic with a twist grilled cheese sandwich and it was excellent. We should have gotten another one on our way out.

photo 5 (9)

We walked around the whole gamut of vendors and it was packed with so many hipsters and cool people. I can’t remember what we were trying to make CJ and R do here.

photo 1 (20)

Considering he only took a short nap and there were so many people around, CJ did pretty well. But we concluded that we will definitely need a leash for him if we’re to go to Disney World any time soon.

photo 3 (14)

We also got a lobster roll from the Red Hook Lobster Pound. I’m not sure who’s knocking who off, but this one looks awfully familiar to Luke’s Lobster, albeit with a bit more meat. Sadly, it’s not as great because the spice wasn’t flavorful at all. Like I said, we should have gotten another grilled cheese sandwich.

photo 4 (12)

Since we didn’t have any dinner for CJ at home, we decided to buy some sticky rice with chicken satay to go, gluten and egg free, and it was actually pretty good. I didn’t expect much, but the many excellent food vendors alone is a good enough reason to trek out to Brooklyn for some Smorgasburg.

photo 2 (19)

I ran across this stuffed fox and I couldn’t help myself.

This entry was posted in CJ, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

