NYCC 2013

photo 1 (3)

This past weekend I attended the 2013 New York Comic-Con at the Javits Center. I went with my friends Alan and Terence from church and we had a great time walking around and looking at stuff companies were displaying and picking up an action figure here or there as well. Half of the giant hall is like a mall of just comic book and action figure stores, and the prices weren’t that bad either. One company was selling a limited edition Transformer for $350 that Terence wanted to buy, so we rushed over to that booth first and we happened to be fifth in line and the vendor was only selling four per day, so Terence was pretty deflated. But the vendor was really nice and opened up a new box of Transformers just for Terence and for no one else behind him. I would never have gambled on making it, but Terence took home one of the best exclusives of the weekend.

photo 2 (2)

We then ran into the Lego booth that was giving out free Halo Mega Bloks figures. All we had to do was line up to type our email address into an iPad and a volunteer would give us the figure. We each quickly got one, and with me and my eBay prowess, I quickly snapped a photo, wrote a brief description and put it up on eBay for $10. I really didn’t think it would sell, but within a few hours someone had bought it which comes out to around $7.00 profit after shipping costs and ebay fees. So before we left we ran back to the Lego booth to get more so that I could sell them for everyone, and as of this writing I’m sold out. Easy money.

photo 3 (2)

This is Terence and I sneaking in a photo…

photo 4 (2)

…while Alan searches for the right Pokemon to buy for his kids.

photo 5 (2)

I’m also into graphic tees, and although they were all expensive ranging from $20 and up, that still didn’t prevent me from snapping a photo of my favorite one of the day.

photo 1 (4)

Just like last year, Kore was one of the few food vendors there to feed our starving stomachs. Instead of the burger, I opted for the meatballs which was $1 cheaper and actually pretty good with less of a mess.

photo 2 (3)

Sgt. Slaughter, one of my favorite G.I. Joe characters, was there signing autographs.

photo 4 (3)

I think this must have been my fifth time attending the New York Comic-Con since its inception and I think I had the most fun this year because it’s always great to hang out with friends that are also into what I’m into. Hopefully the three of us will return next year for another round of fun and shopping.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NYCC 2013

  1. Pingback: NYCC 2014 | msuhu

Leave a Reply

