Edmodo

I use edmodo.com for all of my classes. It’s very much like facebook, but for students to discuss their school work. This is my first year using it and fully integrating it with my classes, and it’s already paying dividends as students are asking really good questions and their peers are taking the time to help each other. As an educator, this is really exciting to see students work outside of the classroom. Below is a conversation that was posted tonight.

DB to MGN11QQB-01

Hey everyone, so I just have a tiny question: how do you even get simplest radical form? I have a basic idea but I just can’t seem to wrap my head around it. For example: the simplest radical form of the square root of 90 is 3√10 but how?? Help? (I should know this, I just, I don’t know..)
38 minutes ago• 4 Replies • 1 Reaction

Me said 35 minutes ago:
who’s got this? extra credit…  who’s got this? 

CG said 30 minutes ago:
ok so What you do is; you find two factors of the number one being a perfect square so that you can simplify it ( and you simplify it until you cant simplify it anymore) and the other factor stays under the radical because you can’t find the square root of it without getting decimals

I hope I didn’t confuse you more, I’ll show you tomorrow in class  ok so What you do is; you find two factors of the number one being a perfect square so that you can simplify it ( and you simplify it until you cant simplify it anymore) and the other factor stays under the radical because you can’t find the square root of it without getting decimals

I hope I didn’t confuse you more, I’ll show you tomorrow in class  more…

AH said 3 minutes ago:
Find two factors of 90 
One of the numbers should be a perfect square
For example 9 and 10
9 times 10 equals 90
So you should put 10 under the radical(Check mark with line) 
and the square root of 9 on the outer left side of the square root symbol 
Which is 3 So the answer should come out to 3(Square root sign)10
Thats how the answer comes out too 3_/10 – Sorry for the weird sign Cant find the square root button Find two factors of 90 
One of the numbers should be a perfect square
For example 9 and 10
9 times 10 equals 90
So you should put 10 under the radical(Check mark with line) 
and the square root of 9 on the outer left side of the square root symbol 
Which is 3 So the answer should come out to 3(Square root sign)10
Thats how the answer comes out too 3_/10 – Sorry for the weird sign Cant find the square root button more…

AH said 57 seconds ago:
For example: √8 = √(4 * 2) so 2√2 = the simplest radical form of √8

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Edmodo

  1. Janina says:

    Nice. I hope the OP understood the explanations!

Leave a Reply

