Nuts 4 Nuts

photo 1 (81)

Last Friday was my last free Friday of the summer, so I decided to have a lunch date with Grace one last time. But before heading over to the upper west side, I visited Times Square and went all touristy.

photo 2 (79)

Living in New York is the worst excuse to enjoy the city, so sometimes one has to endure the subway and just go out and do it.

photo 3 (48)

After walking around Times Square, I had an hour to kill before meeting Grace for lunch, so I decided to walk up to 68th and 1st Ave. After I began walking I opened up my maps iphone app and didn’t realize how long a walk it would take me. So then I went hunting for one of those new Citi Bike stations and amazingly there was one around the corner from where I was standing at the time. I was really excited at the prospect of navigating the crowded Manhattan streets while blowing by both cars and pedestrians. But before I took the plunge I looked up the closest station near Grace’s hospital to see where I’d drop the bike off and sadly it was nine blocks away. I was completely deflated and walked on.

photo 4 (39)

I kept walking past the normal street vendors that were all selling similar items. One new thing that I hadn’t seen before were the superhero metallic sign posts. I wasn’t going to buy one, but I just wanted to see how much they were and one guy said $10 for the Batman sign. I nodded my head and just walked away and the vendor chased me down and offered $8. I was tempted to say $7, but I have absolutely nowhere to hang one, although I could put it in my classroom, so I just kept moving on.

photo 5 (28)

I then got the bright idea of at least getting some delicious macaroons from the Macaroon Cafe on 59th and Madison Ave. I bought a dozen for $27. Pricey, but a rare treat.

photo (57)

I met Grace in front of the same Belgian restaurant, Le Pain Quotidien, that we ate at the last time we went out on a lunch date. By this time my iphone battery died, but we had an enjoyable time and are looking forward to our next lunch date next summer, lol.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

