My FAST & FURIOUS 6 Review

Fast Furious 6 Cast

So yes, last week I had my own personal movie-fest in which I caught up on some films that I missed this past Spring, and one of my selections was the most recent entry of the Fast & Furious franchise.

I think I have a love/hate relationship with this series. I remember watching the first film during the summer of 2001 when my parents and uncle gave me my first car, a 2001 silver Honda Civic (dX), lol. I vividly recall driving with my friend Leon and watching The Fast & Furious, and then walking out all revved up and excited about driving. I loved it. But then that was it. Aside from a few exciting scenes, most of the sequential films fell flat for me and weren’t memorable. However, the last two installments were both directed by Justin Lin. I’m not sure where he came from, and his style is just average, but the stories he’s telling are much more interconnected in being more procedural and serial than individually episodic. This most recent film brought about storylines from the film before it which gives the series a bit of cohesiveness and much needed familiarity. Yes, the actions scenes are exciting and all, but Justin Lin’s films paint a more larger picture and world for the characters within the franchise which I like and enjoy. The story is typical and the driving scenes are cool, but it’s always great and nostalgic to bring back old characters and also develop and have old ones move on and grow. That’s what makes this film watchable and enjoyable. By itself, it’s okay, but within the franchise, it’s very good.

I give this film 4 out of 5 stars if you’re a fan, but only 2 stars if you like to drive solo.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

