Class of 2015

photo 2 (55)

Monday night was the orientation for my church elder training. I got nominated back in May and this was our very first of many monthly meetings.

photo 1 (55)

This is going to be a huge commitment as I will have to put in a lot of time during the school year to read, write reports, and attend meetings to facilitate and prepare me in becoming an elder. I’m generally excited as I had a lot of fun during my deaconate training back in 2009, and this won’t be much different. I’m blessed to be training alongside six great brothers and sisters who love Christ and believe in the work involved in expanding God’s kingdom. Of course I’m scared as well as more is expected of me, specifically being more scrutinized and examined about knowing theology and being able to articulate what I believe in. Unless I study and prepare, I’m normally not one to be able to clearly and succinctly make my point in public.

Nonetheless, I know that it’s not just about what I know about Christ, but also who He really is in my life which will allow me to prepare in becoming an elder. I am looking forward to discovering more about who I am, who Christ is, and how I can be used to serve and shepherd, cast vision, and guard the truth. This is going to be an exciting 20 month journey and I’m thankful to God for having led me to this point in my life and I look forward to experiencing His grace through this entire process.

This entry was posted in Gospel, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

