A Decade of DONE!

20130626-070440.jpg

After today, I will have completed ten consecutive years of teaching mathematics for the New York City Department of Education. As a whole, this is simply amazing as I never would have thought ten years ago that I would last this long, let alone finish my NYC Teaching Fellows Program and also get a position at a high school in Queens. Pure grace.

20130626-070454.jpg

Up until last week, I really didn’t think that my students would have done well on the geometry regents exam. However, God would have it that I obtained a comparatively high passing rate relative to the entire school’s geometry regents passing rate. When I found out I was floored. With this being my first time teaching a geometry course, I think I did pretty well. Of course, sadly there were a few students who obtained scores in the low sixties and I even had one student score a 64. So close. But overall this year was pretty good because I had amazing students, relearned my geometry, and got acclimated with more responsibilities working in the program office. A ton of learning going on; #lifelonglearner.

I really can’t wait to get out of here as I can’t remember the last time I was really looking forward to being done and starting my summer semi-vacation. Thank you, Lord.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Decade of DONE!

  1. Jenna says:

    Congrats to 10 years! 😀

Leave a Reply

