V-Day

photo 1 (8)

It’s a bit difficult for the wife and I to celebrate Valentine’s Day. After Christmas, both of our birthdays are five days apart in February, and then our wedding anniversary is in March. So having Valentine’s Day squished between those celebrations is quite draining and somewhat repetitive. It’s not as if I don’t love my wife, it’s just that we’ve practically said almost everything we need and have to say to each other twice already and one more thereafter. Alone, I appreciate the holiday and significance, for I don’t adhere to the cheesy, “if I truly love her, then why do I need a designated special day to celebrate that?” If anything, I think generally speaking we all need to love one another a bit more, including those who are romantically involved.

photo 2 (8)

So yesterday I picked up a pair of my wife’s favorite arrangements: orchids. If my memory serves me correct, I think I purchased the same amount from the same vendor last year, but on V-Day and they cost about 30% more. Not bad for an early gift. And later last night I went to Trader Joe’s to pick up some organic food for CJ and I had completely forgotten that they have a decent selection of flower arrangements at amazing prices. A dozen long-stem roses for $12.99? Wow. Hopefully I’ll remember next year to pick some up at TJ’s instead.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

