Nikki

photo (85)

Each period 2 teacher was given cut-outs of blank angels this week for students to write messages and decorate which are going to be sent to the families of Sandy Hook. I didn’t think my students would put much effort into it and sort of blow it off, but I was pleasantly surprised at how thoughtful and caring they can really be. Their encouragements were sincere and uplifting, and it goes to show that my students are more than just bodies of numbers and data. I suppose they’ve also thought about what would happen if something as tragic happened to them at our school, for they themselves can mirror the victims.

I’ve also been impressed by some of my Arista students who over the course of the past few weeks have been to places like Far Rockaway to help clean up and restore various communities in the wake of Hurricane Sandy. I never did that type of stuff when I was in Arista. These kids have huge, untapped hearts that just need an outlet to show that they care too. I’m so blessed and honored to be their teacher.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

