Look What I Found

After church, I went out to pick up dinner (yes, planet wings again) and I returned to my building via the basement entrance where people leave stuff to be recycled. As I walked to the elevator I took notice of a bunch of cables on the ground. Because I was looking at the recycling pile, I figured cables could mean broken electronics, so I traced the cable and, to my utter amazement, there lying on the ground was a Playstation 3 with power and component cables.

Now, if you know me well, you’d know that I’m an avid PC gamer (pre-fatherhood days), and if you know me even better, you’d know that I’ve been salivating over a PS3 for years, literally. It’s come to the point where my wife doesn’t even ask me what I want for Christmas or my birthday because she knows how I’ll respond, but she still hasn’t relented.

So when I saw this, I thought I hit the jackpot. It’s like saying, “oh, I wish I found $200”, and five years later there’s $200 lying on the sidewalk waiting for you to pick it up. This was quite the find indeed. However, I’m not naive, for most likely this was a dead PS3, for who would throw out a working blu-ray player. And so it happens that it is dead, for the most part. When I turned it on, it blinked yellow and then red. From what most people are saying online, it’s an overheating issue. I was able to get a WWE game disc out, but it’s still dead. I’ll try to fix it myself, but I’m not going to kill myself over a $200 first generation PS3. We shall see.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Look What I Found

  1. Pingback: No-Spill | msuhu

Leave a Reply

