Game Over

This is really upsetting. I don’t think I’ve ever been so down concerning anything related to sports, unless it’s softball, since losing in a semi-finals intramural volleyball game during my senior year in college because it was my last chance of winning a championship. When it comes to professional sports, I follow most major stories and am pretty knowledgeable of teams and players, but I don’t get overly passionate or disappointed unless a New York team is gunning for it in the playoffs. As a fan looking in, I’m detached from taking part in any victory or loss, so when it comes to something major occurring I don’t really swing either way. Unless I’m a live spectator or participating in the game, I’m just eh. But this Jeremy Lin loss has me all up in arms about not only about losing him, but also about how the Knicks foolishly and disrespectfully went about not re-signing him.

I suppose my expectations played into the matter as I had firmly believed, as did the media, that the Knicks would match any offer Lin received and would do whatever it takes to retain him. Yet they deemed Lin still unproven and not worth the contract that the Houston Rockets. The Knicks may have a point and are not being unreasonable, but what really gets me is that they knew, the whole world knew, that New York City and most Asians loved Lin, and for Mr. Dolan, the CEO of MSG, to choose to not listen to, please, and do something just a bit for his fan base is downright mean. It just made total sense to keep him. But as usual, the Knicks had to screw up something really good. To see the team that entrusted him and opened up his world blow up the biggest thing that’s happened to them since their trip to the finals back in the 90’s backstab him with contact comments from Carmelo Anthony and have the owner lose faith in him is ugly and heartbreaking, for today Lin even said that he preferred to stay here in NYC.

Jeremy is the first player that I have been so infatuated with that I can sincerely be called a fan of his like none other. His faith and ethnicity hold my attention as I identify, albeit somewhat unrealistically, with him and want to watch him succeed as it would be points for both the Christian and Asian communities alike, not to say that any of this is a religious or racial competition. It was so fun to watch the Knicks play nearly every other day, as if my favorite show had a new episode on at least three times a week. Now no more. So sad.

In any case, it really saddens me to see Lin go. He’s definitely off to a better team as he is needed with the Rockets and will certainly start and flourish without Melo sulking and lurking in his shadow jealously. But to have Linsanity end here in New York is depressing and fleeting. I really hope Lin succeeds in Houston and I would love to see the Knicks have a terrible season with the fans jumping on them and Dolan regretting letting him leave. I’m not going to be a Brooklyn Nets fan, but I can’t say that I’m a Knicks fan either anymore.

I suppose now there’s no chance of me getting a signed photo.

This entry was posted in Gospel, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Game Over

  1. Pingback: Lin$anity | msuhu

Leave a Reply

