My CLASH OF KINGS Review

This is the longest book I have ever read at 969 pages cover to cover. I enjoyed the first book, A Game of Thrones, in the A Song of Ice and Fire series not because of how boring it could be, but because of its complexity, depth, and character growth. This series is no fairy tale, but is a mature story that expertly handles multiple characters, and in doing so with no main protagonist, each is vulnerable to unexpected and permanent death.

This second book has a bit more action, but it’s still mainly a story dependent on conversation, for such  is where the real battles occur, one of verbal strife and devious plotting and few centered about swords and blood. There are many more plot devices and much story progression in this one than the former which helps move things along. Although not as a dramatic ending as I had hoped for, there are still three more books that I need to catch up on with two more unpublished.

I think this took me about six months to read on and off, so I’m not sure if I want to immediately pick up the third book, A Storm of Swords. I am, however, catching up on season 2, HBO’s adaption. I didn’t like the first season which covered the first book, but I’m liking this second season because of the liberties the writers have taken in making things a bit more interesting and opening up characters who were closed off or mostly absent from the written story.

I also think it’s time to take a break from non-fiction and pick up something more beneficial and useful, such as the Bible or a Timothy Keller book. The past six months with CJ has been a joyous time, but not without its challenges. As our focus has been driven by our son, I cannot at the same time neglect my marriage. Of course, all marriages are certainly not without their challenges and stresses, for if someone were to say otherwise at any point of time during their union, they’re either lying or blind because there is no such thing as a perfect or fairy tale marriage. It’s a process of change and growth, for no one is ready for marriage, let alone is any couple perfectly compatible beforehand, for then why do couples argue?

In any case, I hope to learn and meditate more on how to better serve my wife and lead her to Christ.

I almost forgot. I rate this book an 8 out of 10 for still being a bit too heavy on the dialogue and bare on the fighting.

This entry was posted in CJ, Gospel, Life, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

