Nai-Cha

I love Chinatown. Although I can’t speak Cantonese and I’ve never lived in Chinatown, I’m very fond of the area because I spent every Sunday for 19 years of my life going to church on Centre St. Service was at 3pm because the pastor preached in the morning in New Jersey, so I basically had my afternoons free since Bible study was in the morning. Aside from playing Risk, I would walk around Chinatown and window shop when no one around my age came to church. I spent most of my time gawking and lusting after comicbooks and Gundam models. In retrospect, although I didn’t speak the language, I still felt comfortable walking around as if I belonged, although I really didn’t. I suppose being around mass quantities of Chinese people didn’t bother me even if I couldn’t communicate with them.

Driving to Chinatown these days is so rare and such a treat. When I have kids, I hope I’ll be able to faithfully introduce them to this side of their heritage without them feeling so alien or foreign towards the people and environment.

This entry was posted in CJ, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.