Winter is Coming

After three months of leisure reading, I have finally finished George R.R. Martin’s first book in his A Song of Ice and Fire series: A Game of Thrones. It was quite the adventure for me, more so in the act than the story itself for I believe this is the longest novel I have ever read at 850 pages. My satisfaction lies more in this useless piece of knowledge than in finishing the story because, well, the story is far from finished, four more books not finished. Don’t get me wrong, the story was very intriguing with excellent characters and story elements, for it was quite different from what I had anticipated. A Game of Thrones is not one of those typical LOTR’s type books with quests, magic, and saving-the-world destinies. No, it’s more of a political soap opera with deceit and treachery sprinkled with the occasional blood spilling here, or battle there, but nothing that exciting, and therein lies its flaw…it bored me at some points, for I needed to read of heroic battles and acts of bravery, but this story had little of such and more of a realistic nature with selfishness, jealousy, and malice filling in for bloodshed. Most would say such a “flaw” was its best attribute…sure, if that’s your cup of tea, but it was a good read nonetheless. I’m glad I finished because I’m now able to watch the HBO series and compare and contrast, although I’m certain the book is better, as it always is. Will I read on and complete the series? Who knows, perhaps I’ll read one book per year. I need to take a break, for I must give some love to Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game which is a sci-fi space/aliens novel. Quite odd how I can jump from medieval fantasy to sci-fi space opera stories, but that’s how I roll. It’s 324 pages long, so perhaps I may get a chance after all to begin A Clash of Kings before the summer’s out. We shall see.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.